Thornbury Governors


The Local Governing Body is made up of a group of people who voluntarily give their time and have an interest in the School and the education provided. It is a legal requirement that schools have a Local Governing Body with a balanced representation. They work closely with the Headteacher, (who is also a Governor) and Senior Leadership Team, set the strategic direction for the School and make decisions which ensure that the children get the best possible education. The Governors meet regularly to discuss all matters relating to School. They are kept fully informed, with each member having a specific area of responsibility (each area is listed below for your information). Governors also monitor and evaluate the School’s provision and progress, for example by visiting lessons and looking at SATS results.


The Governors meet every term for two different types of meetings. Once a term they discuss School business and for matters relating to the Academy they meet twice. The Academy meeting follows a set agenda that each of the five Academy schools follow; ensuring that the Multi Academy Trust (called Connect Academy Trust) is working together. The five schools making up the Academy are Eggbuckland Vale, Leigham, Manadon Vale, Widey Court and of course Thornbury.


You will see the Governors around School regularly and they always aim to attend events such as the Parent Open Mornings, School Fayres and especially the Year 6 Leaving Assembly held on the last day of the summer term.



Thornbury’s Local Governing Body is currently made up of the following members:-



Mrs Lynn Smith

Chair of Governors


Standards, Curriculum, EYFS

Mrs Rachel Confue,

Vice Chair of Governors


Standards, Curriculum, Safeguarding, SEND, Pupil Welfare

Mrs Carole Burgoyne

Co-opted Governor

Standards, Curriculum, Safeguarding

Mr Trevor Caves

Co-opted Governor

Standards, Curriculum, Business

Mrs Laura Faith

Parent Governor

Newly appointed, areas to be determined.

Mr Rob Lippett


Standards, Curriculum, Business, e-safety, Pupil Welfare

Miss Kelly Potts

Staff Governor


Mrs Claire Hardisty


Standards, Curriculum, Safeguarding, SEND, Pupil Welfare

Mr Ben Wallis

Assistant Headteacher

Curriculum, e-safety


None of our Governors have any business interests to declare relating to the school or hold any other role of governance in another educational institution.


A Co-opted Governor is someone who is appointed by the Local Governing Body because they have the skills required to contribute to both the Governing Board and the success of the School.


If you would like to contact any member of the Local Governing Body, please write to them c/o

Thornbury Primary School

Miller Way





The Governors are always happy to hear your comments. You may contact them via:


Mrs Lynn Smith, Chair of Governors at


Mrs Lucy Hayes, Clerk, at